Healing from Heartbreak

"He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds." – Psalm 147:3 (ESV)


This verse stood out to me this morning during my devotions because recently there have been several people who have told me about them hurting, or feeling heartbroken. The situations aren't all romantically related; admit it, when you see or hear the words "heartbreak" or "broken-hearted," the first thing you think about is a romantic relationship. And there's nothing wrong with that at all!

But I think as I read this verse, I thought about the different types of heartbreak, or the different things that can cause our hearts to break – the death of someone close to you, the loss of a great opportunity or of even an item that meant something to you, rejection from a team or group, the list can go on.

Not only are there different reasons for heartbreak, but there are also different ways in which we cope with heartbreak. We cry, we vent to our friends and family, we try to do other things to distract us from our heartbreak, we even shut down completely, unable to handle the hurt we feel.

I can think back to a time when I felt some deep heartbreak. It felt like there was a weight, not just in my chest, but on my back as well. It's amazing to me how much emotions can affect our physical selves. But what was my initial reaction to the heartbreak? What/who did I turn to to try to ease the pain, stop the hurt?

Honestly, I try to deal with the heartbreak that I have alone sometimes. It's not that I'm ashamed for people to know that I'm hurting, I think it's because as a Christian I sometimes feel silly feeling such a heavy weight on my heart over something so trivial compared to other bigger issues in the world. How can I be crying over being rejected by someone when there is someone out there right now without a roof over their head? I don't want to compare sadness or hurts, but I think that's what I end up doing, and I end up believing that my hurt isn't valid or "big enough" to be a heartbreaking thing.

Then, if I feel like I've handled my hurt as best as I can on my own, I turn to my family, my close friends, sometimes to music that will uplift me out of the mess I find myself in. And all of these things are great things to reach out to when dealing with heartbreak. However, I sometimes find that the hole created by heartbreak still isn't

The verse above though is so encouraging. Growing up in a Christian household, I remember my parents telling me to go to God with my problems, and I believed that I could, but I also had some doubt that He even cared about the smaller things in my life, like if I got rejected by someone, or if I lost something, or if I didn't get the job I wanted.

I mean, since then, God has been faithful in so many ways in my life, but I feel like this verse was a great reminder for me; when the things of this world cannot comfort me, cannot soothe my aching soul, I can go before the One Who knows me best, and he can heal my broken heart, and mend my wounds. I know to some that may sound supernatural and religious, but I can't express the peace I've felt simply by bringing my hurts to my Heavenly Father, as silly as they may seem to me, and how much I've seen Him care about them.

This verse is an encouragement piece. A confirmation. An assurance that there is a solution to a broken heart, even if it doesn't seem like there is while I'm dealing with it.

And I hope you find some encouragement in that as well!

#MishyWrites 🦋✨

Leave a Reply

