Postcard Prose: The Introduction

So…now that I’m back on my writing game here…how about a new series?

It’s been a long time since I’ve written a series of posts, but I’m excited to get back into it. Although I have an array of creative outlets (so much so, it’s difficult for me to keep up with them all), I want to make sure that I’m always writing something. And I want my writing to grow in all sorts of ways, not just poetry/spoken word-wise.

So, how about some fiction writing? Oo, I get goosebumps because it’s been a minute since I’ve written anything in the fiction genre, so this is exciting and also intimidating.

Anyways, onto the series…

Background

Let me give you some context about how this series is starting:

Almost a year ago, Bria was visiting Savannah back when I was still living there, and I was spending the night at her house. She told me she had a gift for me, and gave me these postcards she’d found in a stamp collector store in Napa.

But they weren’t just any postcards; these postcards had already been written on and sent to people with small details of their trip, or replies from a postcard already sent.

A few months ago, I went back home to Tybee Island, and my friends and I went into one of the shops that I honestly never really frequented when I lived there. And lo and behold, in several boxes, there were some postcards, and some of them had been written on just like the ones Bria had given to me! So I bought a few to add to the postcard collection, and to the blog series!

So every day, until I run out of postcards, I will be writing a fiction piece inspired by a postcard I randomly pick from the bunch!

I give Bria full credit for this series, because she gave these postcards to me thinking they would be really good writing practice. And here I am, making it a series on the blog. We’re both excited, and hope that you are too!

Looking forward to diving back into the fiction writing realm! Let’s do this!

πŸ’™ Mishy πŸ¦‹

Leave a Reply

