Living the Dream.

Yesterday before I left my dad’s hotel room, he asked our family a question – if we could do anything as a job for the rest of our lives, what would it be? And it was cool to share with them the dreams that I’m currently working towards.

6.5

That’s the amount of weeks I have left until everything drops. I’ve been debating on when I should tell people, if it’s a good idea to go ahead and scream the date out, or if it’s too early in advance for people to know because they may just forget about it.

But hey, I guess it doesn’t hurt to actually say it. Maybe it’ll keep me accountable for getting everything I need to get done accomplished.

June 21st.

June 21st – Why This Date?

Because it’s the first day of summer, my favorite season. Because I feel like it gives me enough time to get my things in order website-wise, and also writing/spoken word wise. I’m planning some great things, and I’m praying that they all work out, and that I’ll be able to continue to provide some content for everything, and get a dream of mine that I’ve had for months now up and running.

But Wait, What are Your Dreams?

I dream about a lot of things – traveling, writing for a living, publishing a book, speaking my words in front of a live audience, doing a book signing. And for what? To reach who?

To just speak to people in general who have gone through the same things I’ve gone through, or feel the same things I’ve felt. To acknowledge the difficulty in life, but also acknowledge the beauty in it. To point back to my Heavenly Father Who is over all things, and Who deserves all the glory, honor, and praise. To wrap my arms metaphorically and even literally around young women, and remind them that they are special beings to behold; that they may feel inadequate at times, but they are truly treasures. To tell them that they aren’t their past, and they are capable of so much more than they realize.

I truly believe that in the past couple of months, God has been pulling on my heart about my writing, the gift He has so graciously given to me. Previously, I’d been writing things with the same amount of emotion and passion, but I was afraid to really break out and try new things for fear that I wasn’t good at them; for fear that people wouldn’t like the way that I was trying to communicate.

But then I did it, and thanks to Silas Doss, who was so willing to help me speak the words I’d been writing, I have just felt this rush of passion, and it’s opened my eyes to what I feel like I should be working towards. And ever since then, the Lord has been opening doors of opportunity, and it has been a beautiful thing to see and to live. And thanks to family and friends who I’ve been discussing these dreams with, I haven’t given up on pursuing them yet! It helps to have the support of these people in my life.

Now, this doesn’t mean that I’m 100% sure that what I’m working towards is going to work out. Who knows, maybe the Lord will pull me in a different direction as I’m going through this entire process. But as of now, I am moving forward. I am answering the call, and still bowing in humility because I don’t want to misstep anywhere, and go where God doesn’t want me.

 

I won’t release details of what I’m working on just yet…maybe I’ll wait a couple more weeks to unfold it all. But I think it just hit me last night as I was answering my dad’s question about doing a dream job forever, something I love – I think it was just cool to acknowledge aloud that I am currently working towards that; that my dream didn’t feel like a distant idea that was unattainable.

It felt real. And it is real.

#JustStartWriting

πŸ’™ Mishy πŸ¦‹

Leave a Reply

