hey, it’s been three days…

It’s been a few days since I blogged. Three days, to be exact. And while I could kick myself for not writing anything on here for you all, I honestly feel like I may have needed the break.

I couldn’t even tell you what I did Friday, except I flew a kite for the first time in my life (it was the best work day I’ve ever had so far working where I’m working right now!), and I watched a couple of episodes of Thirteen Reasons Why (which, I will say, is a SUPER INTENSE SHOW, and is for mature audiences only + if you’re going to watch it, watch it with a friend or something, and talk about it. Yes, it’s that intense.).

Saturday I spent like five hours editing my latest YouTube video. I never blog on Sundays, so I went to the park with one of my roommates, and we just sat there and read and people-watched. All three some great, productive, restful days. Wouldn’t change the way I spent them in any way.

There’s a lot going on, and I say that in a good way (I’m pretty sure I’ve typed this sentence before). This week is a four-day work week because of Easter (praise the Lord!), and I’ll be traveling back home with a couple of friends to my island, and I am SO excited! In the midst of all this, I am still doing a lot of planning, thinking, and praying about a lot of things.

Quite honestly, I feel like I’ve felt so many things in the past few days, and at one time or another I wanted to write/blog about them, but never did because I was living in the moment, and trying not to worry about the words I would write later. I’m learning that it’s okay to do that – to just live, to not think about how I’m going to capture a specific moment I am currently in. It’s hard not to do that with

For instance, last Friday I flew a kite for the first time in my life. Sure, I took some pictures and Snapchat videos, but there was a moment when it was just me, and the kite string in my hand as I guided that plastic Hello Kitty diamond across the sky. It was later on in the day when I sat for a good while that I thought about that moment, and wrote some words about it…

“I am a Kite.”

I flew a kite for the FIRST TIME in my life, and I felt so FREE.

The kite, like me, had NO CARE in the world,
No worry for the wind or
A sudden plunge towards earth.

In fact, it was steady against the crisp, blue sky,
As I held the string tight to guide it.

And I, like the kite, pray for the same steadiness
Through the trials and change,
As the LORD holds my heart and mind
Fast in His Hands to guide me.

It’s been really cool to see how faithful the Lord has been providing words for me to write, even though I don’t jot them down immediately when I feel something. Yes, I sometimes feel like the process is a little harder, but I think it’s all about trusting that He’ll bring you back to those emotions and those feelings, and provide you with whatever you need to express what you’ve been feeling.

Truly, I feel slightly at a loss when blogging these days. Part of me wants to start another blogging series, but I’m not sure if I should. Something else I need to be praying about. Because I don’t want to just start a series because it makes it easier for me to come up with things to write (although it may be good writing practice in some areas). I just want to be honest and real in my blogs, and honestly, I feel like I’m sort of just typing out words right now, maybe because it’s almost midnight and I’m a little tired and need sleep haha.

I hope there was something in this post that made sense. If not, I pray that God will grant me some words tomorrow that would make more sense than tonight’s words.

Also, shoutout to all those who made it to my Instagram live tonight. It was super sweet to catch up with each one of you, and to hear how your lives have been, and encourage one another with things coming up in the near future!

*Shameless plug: Mishy Mondays or “Mishy Monday Motivational Mantras” (credit to the ladies from my IG live!) will now be a consistent thing! Please join us every Monday on Instagram live for some love and encouragement 🙂 I don’t really have a specific time yet, but maybe I’ll come up with one soon!

#JustStartWriting

💙 Mishy 🦋

Leave a Reply

