Float On / Just Keep Swimming

Waking up an forty-five minutes before your alarm goes off to lie in bed, and scroll through a little social media on your phone, all the while listening to the faint sounds of your coffee maker in the kitchen, preparing two cups of coffee for you. The coffee should motivate you out of bed, but doesn’t for thirty minutes.

You eventually hop out of bed, and exit your room, knowing one of your roommates is already awake. The morning is peaceful; you have your quiet time with your coffee, interact with your roommates who leave to their proper meetings and places, and you are left alone in the apartment to get ready for the day.

Cleaning your room is an option as you wait to hear from a friend, but instead you lip-sync to one of your favorite albums, until you receive a text from the friend, asking when would be a good time to meet.

The adventure begins…

 

Guys, I just realized I have like fifteen minutes until midnight, which mean Saturday will be over, which means I wouldn’t have posted every day except for Sunday like I used to. So, I’m stopping the dramatic writing now to say this…

Today was awesome.

I went to the aquarium with Caylin, and we got to walk through all the exhibits, which was super fun. She had never touched the sting rays in the touch tank, and she’d  never been to the butterfly room before, so it was cool to see her interact in those settings.

But guys…my favorite part was the jellyfish.

When I was on Tybee last summer, I found out two of my favorite things: my favorite flower (which is a hibiscus), and my favorite sea animal (which is a jellyfish). And although jellyfish don’t have brains, and just seem to be useless little blobs with dangerous stinging tentacles floating around in the ocean, I just somehow resonate with them. I wondered aloud to Caylin while in the jellyfish exhibit why God would create such creatures because it seemed like they didn’t really fit in the food chain of everything. Like, what animal eats jellyfish without being stung??

And Caylin simply replied, “Maybe it’s just so they can be here. So we can look at them like this.” And you know, if that’s the case, I’m truly grateful. I don’t mind seeing jellyfish on the shores of Tybee, although it makes me sort of sad knowing they’re all washed up and probably dead. But there’s nothing like seeing them floating around semi-freely in aquarium tanks. They look like little blobs in a lava lamp. They just seem so care-free.

Maybe that’s why they’re my favorite sea animals – because they just keep floating on without a care. They’re not concerned about having brains or not, or about who’s going to eat them or what they’re going to eat. They just keep swimming (haha, Finding Nemo reference) on. And I strive to be like that – to just keep floating on without a worry, knowing that God’s going to take care of me.

I also like them because they look so cute and squishy, but anywayssss. Check out my latest Instagram posts of pictures of them from today (@mishy_127).

Five more minutes to wrap this up AHH!

So, we went to the aquarium, ate at Cheeburger Cheeburger for the first time (10/10 would recommend!), I had a great phone conversation with a friend of mine (confirming details about next weekend’s trip YAY!), then went to an Arbonne party thing with Caylin to try some products and hang out. Twas a great adventure. I wish I had more time to talk about it in detail, but here we are.

Oh! And I got a new book to read for Sunday: The Best Yes by Lysa TerKreust. I’m excited to read another one of her books since I enjoyed Uninvited so much!

And I also went to the store with one of my roomies to get ingredients for traditional Mexican wedding cookies. A fun activity just in case we get snowed in tomorrow! 😁

Hmmm, am I missing something? No? Okay, good night!

OH WAIT! Don’t forget to “spring forward” all your clocks! And be happy…we may lose an hour of sleep, BUT the sun sets later in the day! SUMMER IS ON IT’S WAY!!!

#JustStartWriting

πŸ’™ Mishy πŸ¦‹

3 thoughts on “Float On / Just Keep Swimming

Leave a Reply

