Sunshine Through Rain.

I’m taking a break from the current #ObjectsTellTales series because I just had this on my heart, and I feel like I need to make this public service announcement…

This week was hard, y’all.

And I know that a lot of things can come to mind when you read that sentence. You may think of the worst-case scenarios, or the little annoying things. Quite honestly, this week has just been super draining. I’ve been tired, aggravated, angry, confused, and hurt due to circumstances of my week, whether it be from things that directly happened to me, or things that affected the people I love.

This probably sounds more dramatic than it was, but I just wanna keep it general for the privacy of myself and those involved.

But I say all this because I know there are probably some of you who have also had hard weeks this week. Or maybe your hard week was last week or the week before. Or maybe you’ve had a series of consecutive hard weeks that have gotten worse as they each come by.

It can be tempting to give up at some points. There were numerous times this week I felt like I was never going to fall asleep / get the rest I needed, I was never going to catch a break, I was never going to see the sun come out because it had been rainy and dreary for days. Because I feel like for the past few weeks that have gone by, each week has just gotten a little more difficult.

I had one amazing week in the middle of February – I was well-rested, I had my quiet time in the mornings, everything was going so well at work, I was getting things accomplished in my writing and in my personal life. And ever since that week, I’ve been hopeful that the weeks that would follow would be the same, and little by little, disappointment has settled a little in my heart because the following weeks have been anything but just as amazing as that one week in February.

God is faithful though, because even though I wanted to give up on everything this week, I knew that the one thing I couldn’t give up on was my quiet time with Him. And it was within this quiet time that He encouraged me…

“The Lord is my strength and my shield; in Him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to Him.” – Psalm 28:7 (ESV)

“I will extol you, O Lord, for You have drawn me up and have not let my foes rejoice over me. O Lord my God, I cried to You for help, and You have healed me.” – Psalm 30:1-2 (ESV)

There were too many moments this week when I didn’t feel like praising God because of the way my week was going. I will honestly say I complained, whined, questioned, and asked, “Why God?” many times. Reading these verses did help me see the bigger picture though. Because even though my week wasn’t easy, someone else’s week was probably worse. I am abundantly blessed to have the problems I had this week, and not some other problems that could have had major affects in my life.

Through the dreary moments, my God was there. I think too many times I wait for something physical to happen in order for me to know that God still has me, like the sun coming out or an easy day at work or being approved or something. When He is there 24/7, through good weeks and bad weeks, whether we remember that or not.

And when I really think about it, there were tons of really good things that happened this week. Sweet moments, blessings, great conversations; and, of course, my mind leans toward focusing on the negative.

I just want to encourage any of you who have been going through a rough week or two or three that it’s not over. You may be weary, over it, done for the week, happy it’s Friday tomorrow. But that doesn’t mean you need to let your guard down because the weekend will be easy. Weekends can be just as hard and exhausting. And because of this, we must place our hope and trust in the Lord. Because at the end of the day or week or month or year, He is the only constant and stable thing that we have to really lean on when we can’t fall asleep at night, when we get that not-so-good grade on that test back, when we are missing people we love who live far away.

Today,  y’all…the sun came out. I walked into the dining room/kitchen of the new apartment I’ve been blessed to live in, and saw the sunlight pouring through the windows. And I was reminded of the good things – being able to afford rent, student loans, exercise equipment, and gas this week; being there for a friend who needed me, and just being able to talk it out and reminisce on past blessings we had, and people we are still currently blessed by; being able to communicate with many of my loved ones this week; being able to officially call this new apartment home. All these blessings this week, and I’d complained and rolled my eyes through most of it because of other circumstances that made me feel weak, vulnerable, out of control.

And as the famous hymn goes…

I hear the Savior say, “Thy strength indeed is small.

Child of weakness, watch and pray. Find in me, Thine all in all.”

Be encouraged, dear friends and dear readers. Yes, tomorrow is Friday. Yes, this week is about to be over. But really look back on your week and think about the blessings the Lord has given you that you may have overlooked as you focused on the hard times.

I’m sure there is some sunshine somewhere in your cloudy week.

#JustStartWriting #TruthPrevails

💙 Mishy 🦋

Leave a Reply

