Cafe Du Monde

I know I didn’t write a post yesterday, and I always apologize for not doing so, but honestly, as I say every time I miss a day of blogging, life happens. And I’m starting to realize that I don’t need to keep apologizing for life happening the way it does. If I can obtain my goal of blogging every day, that is honestly fantastic, and quite a miracle. But this blog is a true reflection of myself – and I am not perfect.

That being said, I hope that you enjoy today’s #ObjectsTellTales post about a mug I got when I was in New Orleans spring semester of my senior year in college. 

This is probably one of my favorite mugs. I mean, I feel like most of the mugs I own are my favorite, but this one in particular is extremely special.

Imagine my friend Rachel and I rushing through a crowd of tourists and locals. Paintings, photographs, and other works of art were spread throughout the sidewalks. We weaved our way through the crowds, trying to make it to our destination as quickly as possible, before noon preferably.

Dependent upon the GPS of an iPhone, we finally found Cafe Du Monde on Decatur Street, and entered the gift shop to buy mugs for ourselves, and other gifts for family and friends.

There were so many styles, designs, and colors of mugs to choose from. I picked up a classic white coffee mug with a dark brown outline of the cafe, a different classic white coffee mug with a colored outline of the cafe, and a blue diner-style mug with a picture of the cafe in green and beige. Where there wasn’t a picture of the cafe, there was a description about it, explaining what it served – beignets and cafe au lait – and how long it had been in business.

I held the mugs in my hand, struggling to make a decision as Rachel shopped around for the items she needed. She also had couple of diner mugs in her hand, one a mint green, the other I can’t recall the color of. She decided upon the mint green one for herself, as I continued to be my usual indecisive self.

But I didn’t really have time to be indecisive. And as you can see, I went with the blue diner mug instead of the classic coffee mug. I honestly couldn’t tell you why; maybe I gave in to it because it was my favorite shade of blue – what many of my closest friends call “Mishy blue.” Or maybe it was the way the mug was shaped. Either way, I have the mug, and I’ve probably used it more than many of the mugs I’ve had for a good while.

I remember lugging the white paper Cafe Du Monde gift shop bag that held my blue diner mug in a box back toward the hotel we were staying in. Our trek consisted of more weaving around people, crossing many different crosswalks, but finally making it to our destination. I was grateful for beautiful weather that day; spring had definitely hit NOLA, and I was sad that in an hour or so, we’d be going back to the college campus, where winter still reigned.

But I could warm up with some coffee or tea in my new Cafe Du Monde mug. 🙂

#JustStartWriting #ObjectsTellTales

💙 Mishy 🦋

Leave a Reply

