What I’m Reading that’s Inspiring Me.

Currently, as I’ve been blogging to you guys, I’ve been journaling both in my daily journal and in my prayer journal, and I’ve also been trying to read more books. Ever since I graduated college, I’ve got more time to read, which makes me SO happy since I’m a total bookworm. I thought that I’d just share with you guys what’s been in my bag and in my hands recently that’s been inspiring me.

Uninvited by Lysa TerKreust

I’ve mentioned this book a couple of times, I think, in previous posts. I’d seen it before on social media, and had heard it was good, and honestly I was a little hesitant about reading it. Why? Well, I felt like it was one of those “typical Christian girl books” that every Christian girl reads, so I thought I’d pass it up.

But after being encouraged by several different people to read it, I finally bought it and started reading it. And oh my word. This book is totally changing my life. It’s taking me a while to read because, well, I sort of started it and then stopped for a bit, and now I’m actively reading a chapter a day, and every chapter has something my soul just needs. I am learning so much about myself through this book, and I believe that as I’m really trying to figure myself and my writing out, this book has become a major tool in helping the process.

A Prayer Journal by Flannery O’Connor

As soon as I began reading this book, I immediately took to my journal to write out ideas that had already been planted in my mind. Not to mention, I honestly feel a good tattoo idea coming out of this; something that’s super meaningful and personal to me as a person, and as a writer (still praying and thinking about it though).

I’m still in the middle of this book as well, but just like Uninvited, I am gaining some great insight and inspiration from O’Connor, a fellow writer who is crying out to God to truly help her as she struggles with her desires and what God wants for her within her writing. I feel her emotions so deeply.

I Love My Love by Reyna Biddy

The person behind the Intro on Kehlani’s debut album has re-released her poetry book I Love My Love with the original poems and some added poems as well (and I think she said the preface was new too). I’ve been getting more into poetry ever since I read Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur last summer, so I was thrilled to find another modern day poet I could read from and learn from.

This is definitely another book that gets me all in my feelings and emotions. When I read her words, I can connect with them. I wasn’t in the same situations as some of the poems express, but some of the feelings she writes about, I can surely resonate with.

 

Now normally, I start one book and I stick to one book, and I won’t start reading another book until the current book I’m reading is finished. But I find that it’s okay to start several things at once, especially if they’re all working hand-in-hand to spark something within you, to inspire you. To bring up feelings you need to feel and ponder about for your sake and your writing’s sake.

I used to want to read books as fast as I could, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned that it’s best to take my time so that I can actually learn something from the author’s words. To study the way the words were written, or how something is communicated, or how it makes me feel is so important, and I want to grow to be better at this as I continue reading more and more.

If any of you have any suggestions of what I should read next, either based off of what I told you I’m currently reading or just a random suggestion, please feel free to tell me in the comments! I’m always up for new books and new authors! πŸ™‚

#JustStartWriting

πŸ’™ Mishy πŸ¦‹

10 thoughts on “What I’m Reading that’s Inspiring Me.

  1. I read inspiring books too!

    I have found that there is a lot to learn from biographies, classics, and any other inspiring nonfiction, which is why I started my blog.

    I write book reviews for those kinds of books, which might be something you would be interested in. The most inspiring book I have read is “Total Recall” by Arnold Schwarzenegger, which I wrote a review for.

    If you want to know what I’ve been reading, and why I do it, please stop by my page.

    https://thewrightread.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This really is a very amazing powerful resource that you’re offering and you just provide it away cost-free!! I really like discovering websites ones understand the particular valuation on giving you fantastic learning resource for zero cost. We truly dearly loved examining these pages. Be thankful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

