Up to Speed

I haven’t done a life update for you guys in a while, so, I figure now is the time since things are starting to change for me yet again.

I’m currently in the process of moving into a new place (in the same area, just DOWNTOWN) with two new roommates, which is really exciting. The home I’ve been living in for the past two months has been an awesome place to land – a place to get my footing as I started a new job, reconnected with friends, met new people. The people I’ve lived with have taught me many things, and I’m definitely going to keep in touch with them (I’m literally only moving like 10-15 minutes away, after all). Like, where else and who else will I play video games with?

With this moving process happening, I’ve been reminiscing about me moving from Tybee Island to Chattanooga a few months back, and I’ve been missing my family and my island so much these days. I’ve been scrolling through pictures I took this past summer, and even posted one on my Instagram as I craved the warm weather, the bike rides, the little adventures I would create on my own since I had to find ways to entertain myself. Seeing my mom, stepdad, and little sister every day. I miss it all.

And I was thisclose to being able to hitch a ride down there this weekend with my grandparents, but they’re leaving earlier than I could (I have work), and leaving later than I could (again, I have work). I honestly hoped I could make it because I just feel like I could gain some awesome inspiration by being in one of the most meaningful places to me, but with a totally different mindset than I had a couple of months ago.

So, needless to say, I’m a little disappointed I can’t be there this weekend. Especially when most of my weekend will be sort of lonely, other than a few meetings with friends on Saturday. (Okay, and there may be a potential, mini road trip somewhere in there, but I’m not sure just yet!)

My friend Caylin encouraged me, however, that maybe staying home this weekend and continuing my moving process will spark a different sort of inspiration. And she’s right. We shall see what happens!

Lately, I’ve been trying to hone in my writing focus less on what I think is good or what other people consider is good, and more on what I believe is right for me to write. I’ve been sort of wavering on what my next steps need to be as a writer. Ever since I left Tybee and took the last couple of months of 2016 off of writing on the blog every day, I feel like #JustStartWriting, although still meaningful to me and still full of potential, needs a lot of processing and reinventing.

Within this lulled state of trying to figure out my next steps, some of my notes that were supposed to go into my #JustStartWriting project had to be thrown out due to unforeseen circumstances. I was initially upset because I knew exactly where those notes would be able to fit into a book I’d planned on writing. But now that I sit here and think about it, maybe it was meant to be like this. Maybe I wasn’t supposed to use those words in my book after all, and I needed to completely scrap my first draft of #JustStartWriting, and invent a new draft. And maybe this new draft would be better than the last.

And before I can do this, I need to truly understand my personal writing first – why I write, who I write for, my ultimate prayer / focus / goal of writing. And, I’m pretty sure I’ve written this before, but just to reinstate what all of that is, it is this:

“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.” – Psalm 19:14 (ESV)

That is my ultimate prayer / focus / goal as a writer. So much so, I made it the pinned tweet on my Twitter. So much so that I am taking time every day to meditate in the Word of God, and to read and study in other ways so that my mind is filled with the Truth, and with other thoughts and ideas that can spark creativity and opinions and beliefs within myself that I’m able to write about.

Not only have I been trying to fuel my spiritual and mental sides, but I’ve been striving to take better care of myself physically as well – I’ve been going to bed at a better time, drinking more water, eating better foods, and planning on walking like I used to when I was on the island. Maybe even doing some home work outs too.

So, that’s just a little of what’s been going on in my world. There’s a ton more, but I think these are the main things that I’ve been thinking about for the past couple of days as this week comes to a close. This weekend will begin hopefully with me moving my bed into my new place, and after maybe setting up a few things, I think I’ll just relax and have some quiet me time.

Which will involve blogging since I’m doing that every day now, yes? Yes.

Bed time! Sweet dreams! 😘

#JustStartWriting

πŸ’™ Mishy πŸ¦‹

 

Leave a Reply

