Dear Mishy,

A few months back while I was still living on Tybee, I wrote letters to some friends of mine in Chatt just checking on them and letting them know I was thinking of them.

I was lying in bed one night, and I thought of me doing that, and how much I enjoyed it and loved hearing from my friends that they were happy to receive them. And I thought to myself…when was the last time I wrote a letter to myself? 

It may not seem that important, or maybe it seems a little selfish to you, but I wrote myself a letter asking myself questions I would have normally asked my friends. As I wrote, I realized how it was a great self-evaluation outlet. 

I was gonna save it for the new year, but I mean, why not post it now? It’s never too early to start looking out for yourself. 

So here it is…
Dear Mishy,

It’s been a while since you’ve written a letter to anyone. Especially to yourself. 

How does it feel? To receive a letter from someone who cares about you? Yes, you can care for yourself. It’s okay. I know you think that it’s selfish, and it can be if you go too overboard. 

But take heart, dear one. You are just as special to receive a letter that checks up on how you’re doing. 

So…how are you? Have you breathed today? Like, really paused…and breathed. Have you spent time with the Lord today, and asked yourself what you can do to improve in your walk with him?

Have you blocked all the worries and doubt about every different area of life, shoved your earbuds in your ears, and listened to The Rocket Summer or Real Friends or State Champs to cheer you up? To encourage you? Give you a space to just be?

What has been on your heart lately that’s inspired you to write? Whether it be in your journals or on your blog? Or maybe even sparked a new series for #JSW? 

I hope that, whatever you are going through – physically, emotionally, spiritually, and mentally – that you continue to depend on the Lord as He is the only One who continues to be by your side through all of this. 

Remember that there are plenty of people – your family, your friends – who love you just the way you are. There’s no need to change in order to gain the approval or love of someone else. 

You are fearfully and wonderfully made, luvvy. You are a fierce force to behold. 

When you’re in a dark place, don’t stay there, no matter how justified you think you are in feeling down and out. Reach out to those who will encourage you in the Lord. Gain that optimistic attitude back, and pair a little realism to keep you grounded. 

Praying for you always. Thinking of you always. 

Love,

Mishy 💙


#LettertoSelf, 12/24/2016 12:54am. 

#JustStartWriting 

Leave a Reply

