“Just Start Somewhere.” by Taylor Young, #JSWTogether

Night #2 of #JSWTogether AHH! Welcome back, friends!

Did you all enjoy Jonathan’s poem? I really hope you did, I think it was a great reflection, and I think it was so cool that it was inspired by something simple from the house he lived in.

Tonight, my amazing friend Taylor Young gets to inspire us with her words. Taylor and I actually met on Twitter a couple of years ago, and have yet to meet in person (BUT IT WILL HAPPEN SOMEDAY. IN TREE HILL. YES.), but from the conversations we’ve had, whether they be about life’s current struggles or who in the world is gonna get beaten by Negan on The Walking Dead, I know this for sure:

She is a bright, beautiful woman of God, who isn’t ashamed to express herself, whether that be through her series on Instagram called #AnHonestPost; her ALL-CAPS tweets about her favorite sports teams, TV shows, and bands; or her Snapchats of her at work taking care of one of the cutest little three-year-olds I’ve ever seen.

I love Taylor because she’s real, and ever since we connected, she’s always inspired me to be real as well. She’s also the “Bio Queen” in my book. Meaning, her bios on all her social media accounts are ON POINT, and if I ever write a book, I’ll be asking her to write the little bio that goes next to my picture haha!

Taylor, thank you for your constant encouragement and genuineness. You have blessed me in so many ways, and I’m forever grateful. Your constant support also means the world. ❤ ❤ ❤

Now, everyone, listen to Taylor inspire us all! In the meantime, I’ll be looking at my calendar to see when I can plan a trip to North Carolina to finally meet this wonderful friend 😀

#JSWTogether

❤ Mishy

***

Hi writers! My name is Taylor, the infamous Hallowqueen & culinary queen & cat Mom to Armageddon. I’m a woman of many hats, preferably a black one with a point. If I’m not working my 12-12 job as a nanny, I’m binge watching the ID Channel, planning a new trip to go on, or writing in my free time. Writing has been my escape & my haven for so long. I’m currently working on a new writing project, thanks to Mishy for inspiring me, & I’m so happy that she invited me to write for #JustStartWriting!!

A blank space. Just for me. A space with no expectations and no limitations. Mishy’s series is #JustStartWriting, but I’ve kept asking myself… Where do I start? I could take this a lot of places. A full analysis on who’s meeting Lucille first on The Walking Dead. My writing project. My Instagram project over at #AnHonestPost. This summer & how I’ve spent the last few months dealing with the anxiety that I thought I had left behind.

But tonight, I’m writing to you. To whom it may concern, this is for you. To the dreamer, the believer, the hopeful, and the undecided; this is for you. To the lonely, the heartbroken, and the bitter; this is for you. To the hopeless romantics, the pessimists, and the established, for someone who needs to read this; this is for you.

Just start breathing. Start believing. Start holding onto the things you want most in this life. Start motivating yourself to accomplish that goal you deemed impossible. Start letting go of those labels that you’ve let define you for so long. Start jumping at new opportunities & saying no when you need to.

Just start learning. Start putting your phone down and observing. Just start somewhere. There are things in your heart that you want. Go  after them. There are places you want to visit; plan the trip and go. Just go. Just be present. Just go on the trip & be amazed at what you’ll learn about yourself and the people around you.

Last month, I went on a trip to New Orleans, a place that I had been wanting to visit for such a long time. And I finally went last month. It was a four night trip, which was a long trip to me. I’m used to planning short two night trips to New York City. But. Anyway. We went, and it never hit me that I was going to New Orleans, or the fact that I was there. I had built up so much hype and expectations for NOLA, only to be disappointed at the end of the trip. Because I was never blown away by it. Yes, NOLA was beautiful in some aspects and sad in others, but it was nothing like how I had hoped it would be.

My point is, I would have never moved on from NOLA if I had never gone in the first place. If I never would’ve said yes to the adventure that would leave me empty handed, I would still be putting hope into NOLA. That it would have the treasure that I’m looking for. But I went. I searched. And now I’m moving on.

Saying yes to things means saying yes to learning more about yourself. In NOLA, I showed a side of myself that I didn’t know existed. I learned a lot about the people I went on said trip with. I learned a lot about what it means to throw yourself into a city that you thought you knew. I learned a lot about setting yourself up for disappointment. But there’s always room to learn. And with that being said, I don’t regret my trip to New Orleans that much.

If there’s a place you’re wanting to visit, just go. Make it happen. There’s always a way to make things happen. If there’s someone you need to contact, talk to them. Don’t hesitate and don’t waste another minute. If there’s a person that needs your forgiveness, forgive them. Forgiveness doesn’t mean that you have to befriend them again. If there’s some loose ends you need to fix with someone, fix them. If there’s a new hobby you want to experiment with, then go for it. Why say no to the things you truly want? Why put a cap on the things you want to achieve? Who are we to limit ourselves when the world is at our fingertips?

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from One Tree Hill. It’s my favorite quote from that show, and probably my favorite quote in general. There’s so much hope in these words. So much serendipity to be found in these words. This quote is my mantra. It’s my number one wish and my backbone for all the places I want to go and the things I hope to find one day. Just start writing. Just start exploring. Just start treating yourself. Just start focusing on the goals and aspirations that are in your heart. Just start somewhere.

“Make a wish and place it in your heart. Anything you want, everything you want. Do you have it? Good. Now believe it can come true. You never know where the next miracle is going to come from. The next smile, the next wish come true. But if you believe that it’s right around the corner, and you open up your heart and mind to the possibility of it, to the certainty of it, you just might get the thing you’re wishing for. The world is full of magic. You just have to believe in it. So make your wish. Do you have it? Good. Now believe in it, with all of your heart.”

Leave a Reply

