#JustStartWriting – 10/6/16, 11:15pm

This isn’t a part of a series for #JustStartWriting, Month 3, but it’s something that wrote a couple of days ago super late at night. I had already posted on the bl0g for the day, but I just had all of these thoughts rushing through my mind after I’d talked to a close friend of mine on the phone.

So, I give this to you, since it’s already super late (again! I’m sorry!). But I hope you enjoy just going through this thought process I was having…

After a Phone Call with Taylor…

*disclaimer: These thoughts are fully-based on my Christian beliefs and experiences, and will only pertain to those who also claim to be followers of Christ.

By God’s grace, we go through the things we go through to become the people we are today.

Had it not been for that one phone call, that hurtful word, a sinful past, we would not have learned and understood the brokenness of human nature in others, and in ourselves.

Had it not been for the hard times, we would not learn to rely on our Lord and Savior – to be completely fine all the time would cause us to believe that we could live our lives fully without needing to be saved, rescued, and redeemed.

Sometimes, it gets hard; we feel like we are suffering alone, and that others cannot understand the thoughts that run rampant through our minds. We overthink ourselves into oblivion, hoping that if we just invent the perfect scenario in our minds of how things should have happened, should happen, will hopefully happen, that everything will be okay. We do this, and think that we can fix what went wrong, or what could potentially go wrong.

We forget that, no matter what we say or do, we are not in control. As much as we would love for the responsibility of our lives to rest in our hands, we are not given this opportunity because, despite what we believe, we are completely incapable of creating beauty, order, peace. We forget that we are not our own; the good that people see in us is not who we are, but Christ who shines through us. When we forget this, we become prideful, and we believe that we can save ourselves, our friends, our family. How foolish we are to set our eyes on ourselves, and away from the One Who gave us the freedom to have the good that is in us.

We go through these times to remember who we are. The Lord allows me to discover more of who I am when I go through hard times. I have a better understanding of my strengths and weaknesses, how I react to situations, how I interact with others. He reveals to me my humanness, reminding me that I am fragile, incapable, worrisome, controlling, selfish, the list goes on.

We go through these times to remember Whose we are, and Who is in control. Yet, despite my brokenness, despite the fact that I may feel alone going through the hardship that I am going through, the Lord is with me, and He is in control.

“And God gave…”

“The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me through paths of righteousness for His Name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for You are with me.

Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.

You anoint my head with oil, my cup overflows.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life.

And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. Amen.”

– PSALM 23

 The Rocket Summer…

“You’re my Friend, no matter what, You will never leave me to fend,

I don’t know much, but I know we will be, happy as a 1950s TV family.” – “TV Family,” Calendar Days

 

“It’s hard trying to hold on

With all that I have lost.

It all seems so wrong.

But I trust You are God.” – “Peace Come Over You,” Of Men and Angels: B-Sides

 

“And that pain everyday wears a little more.

Between my head and my heart, there is a cold war.” – “Cold War,” Zoetic

 

“What you want is not always what you need.” – “Cold War, ” Zoetic

“Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” – Proverbs 4:23

“Save me, cause I could never float, sinking.

Amaze me, and I will be there holding on for life.” – “Save,” Do You Feel

 

“Pull me out, bring me back to life. The colors, that my eyes had never seen, well I can see them now.” – “Save,” Do You Feel

 

“Waiting, waiting, I’m trying

To get out, to get out, but I’m locked right in.

So take this, take this, away from me

So I can live. So I can live.” – “Waiting,” Do You Feel

 

“RUN AND DON’T STOP IT.”

Life Will Write the Words.

Leave a Reply

