#JustStartWriting – One Week

GUYS. IT’S OFFICIALLY BEEN A WEEK SINCE I STARTED THE #JUSTSTARTWRITING CHALLENGE/PROJECT.

And, how do I feel?

Exhausted

Yeah, okay, this whole writing thing isn’t easy, not to mention, I have so many other things I like to do other than write after I get off of work / there are things I need to do before I leave for vacation this upcoming weekend. So late nights have totally been a thing for me. It’s like college all over again. Only this time, I don’t mind staying up late doing things I love. I just really need that coffee in the morning, as usual…

Ecstatic

But despite lack of sleep, writing every day has been refreshing for me. There have been times where I’ve slightly freaked out and thought Crap, I’ve watched five episodes of One Tree Hill, but I haven’t even come up with a post for tomorrow SHOOT. But then I, well, just start writing, and before I know it, I’ve got something. Sometimes I’m proud of that something, sometimes I’m not. But I think posting things that I’ve just sort of written out, despite my perfectionist tendencies, has really helped me a lot, and it’s grown a lot of my writing.

I’ve enjoyed it! It keeps my mind constantly thinking about subject matter, plot, ideas…I haven’t written a super creative post for #JSW yet, but maybe I will this week. Maybe I’ll make it a goal.

But simply writing these posts hasn’t been the only thing I’m ecstatic about.

I’ve gotten a ton of feedback from my posts. I’ve gained some followers, accrued some likes, but the best part about all of this is being told that others are feeling inspired to write as well. And I’m not trying to give myself a pat on the back about it, but it seriously does make me excited to know that others want to pursue writing, whether it be every day posts, or just starting to write something they’ve been waiting on writing for a while.

I love writing buddies. I used to actually hate having to share my writing with other writers when I was taking creative writing classes in college. But if you find a good writing partner who is willing to read your stuff, and willing to give you the truth about it, then you’re set (shout out to Rachel Krumenacker, my awesome writing buddy! J ).

 

Overall, I’m seeing this passion that’s being sparked among some of my friends. And it’s not just in writing, but in other things. I have friends who are working hard to pursue dreams that they’ve had for a long time, and it makes me happy to see that we can inspire, encourage, and support each other through it all.

And that’s what really matters to me most, honestly; the support and encouragement to keep going, especially when things start to get tough or scary or frustrating.

Like I said about the two “secret” social media accounts I started, I don’t want people to see this #JustStartWriting project of mine, and feel some major pressure to have to read what I post every day. I’ll love you whether you read or not. But I just want to know that you’ve got my back on this, ya know? Reading is definitely a way to show your support, but even just words of encouragement for me to keep going is enough support for me.

We all need people in our lives to push us into places we want to go to, but may be too scared to go to.

So, I encourage you to find those people you can trust to hear about what you’re passionate about. A support system is crucial; as much as I sometimes would like to believe I can do this whole writing thing on my own, I can’t. It takes trusting the Lord in revealing to me what I have to say each and every day. It’s also thanking Him for the gift of writing He’s given me, and for giving me the strength and courage to say what I feel led to say.

It also takes a group of solid, encouraging people who will hear out your ideas, and then help you brainstorm ways to get the ball rolling on your dream. To have that validation from people you love and care about, and who love and care about you goes so far.

I know that I have these people in my life. I can’t name every single one of them, but you know who you are, and I am extremely thankful for you all. I know that sometimes I don’t want to ask for help, and I’m stubborn and scared sometimes to take the advice that is given to me.

But your support means the world.

Here’s to one week of #JustStartWriting, and many more to come!

❤ Mishy

 

Leave a Reply

