The Future Hearts Tour!

AHH. HELLO, GUYS.

Bria, Kae’sha, Xaris (pronounced “care-iss”), and I spent ALL DAY in Atlanta for The Future Hearts Tour featuring All Time Low, Issues, Tonight Alive, and State Champs.

The show was AMAZING. Seeing four very different bands come together and put on such a great show was just what I needed after a crazy week. The experience was definitely memorable.

We left the mountain around 8:15am and were hitting the road probably around 8:30am. We made some good time and got into Atlanta around 10:30 or 10:45, I think, and got to the Atlanta Civic Center to get spots in line. Bria and I left Kae’sha and Xaris to grab some food for all of us. We originally wanted Chik-fil-A…but it was a hospital Chik-fil-A. Like, what?! I’d never seen something like that haha.

So we got Wendy’s instead, and while we were there, apparently the line outside of the civic center got moved upstairs. We got back with food and sat as the second group to the door.

In case you were wondering, I did learn my lessons from my last concert. I brought a bag filled with all the necessities: my water bottle, hoodie, camera, hair ties, a pair of shorts (which I ended up changing into as soon as we grabbed seats in the venue), my wallet, etc. And I only brought a certain amount of cash with me to spend on merch. Speaking of merch…

P1030385

Can you tell I love Issues?? 😀 ❤ #Hooliganforlife

I won’t give you an entire play-by-play of what happened in the 5 or 6 hours we stood in line. We talked to people around us, made a couple of friends, took naps, etc. I got to meet Kiley, the girl who sold me and Bria the Future Hearts Tour tickets, and it was great meeting her and her friends. I got to talk to them for a bit (they were in the table sign-in/meet-and-greet line), and they were super awesome!

There were some moments of strife, especially since we were in the general admission in line and seats were first come, first served. At around 4-4:30pm, all of a sudden people started rushing toward the doors and everyone who’d been sitting down for hours got up and squished against the doors. Staff from the venue and the Masquerade were yelling at everyone to move back, but of course, no one was gonna do that. So we waited in a huge mass like that for an hour-and-a-half, until one of the staff members told us we all had to be in a single-file line. And tons of pushing and shoving ensued.

From explaining to my friends about my experience at the Pierce the Veil/Sleeping with Sirens World Tour concert, our group knew we didn’t want to get front row seats. We just wanted to be able to see everything. And thankfully, the civic center was set up in such a way that everyone could see everything. It was great!

STATE CHAMPS did so good. I was so happy when frontman Derek Discanio brought out the acoustic and played “If I’m Lucky”. After that, I knew that the rest of the night was gonna be legit. He was even nice enough to go to their merch table and meet people, sign their stuff, and take pictures. And he was there for a LONG time too. Like, he was still there after Issues’ set. That was really sweet of him.

I couldn’t get any good pictures of State Champs cause they were moving around SO. MUCH. Heck, pretty sure that goes for all of the bands. I got one slightly good photo of Jenna. I got some good pics of Issues stage set with Tyler in it. There was so much movement (and I was too busy screaming and singing along to even try to sit still and take too many pictures), and I actually got some decent ones of All Time Low.

TONIGHT ALIVE was awesome. I don’t listen to a lot of their music, but I’m glad they played a few songs I slightly knew. Frontwoman Jenna McDougall was SO INSPIRATIONAL. I could just see all the passion in her as she performed. And she made everyone repeat this mantra after her before singing “What Are You So Scared Of?”:

“I refuse to live in fear of someone else’s judgment.”

That brought tears to my eyes. I mean, I don’t really struggle with being afraid of what other people think of me as much as I used to, but it’s still a message that everyone needs to be reminded of. There were plenty of teenagers and even younger people in the crowd who are in that stage of people-pleasing and trying to fit, or who are being made fun of because of who they are. I hope it touched some of their hearts as much as it touched mine.

Jenna also went out to the merch tables, but she was only able to be out there for 20 minutes. But, hey, at least she made time for that!

P1030333

ISSUES…OH WHERE DO I BEGIN?! I just CANNOT EXPRESS how AMAZING they did! AHH THEY JUST MADE MY FREAKING NIGHT, GUUUYYYSSS!!! I’m ashamed to say I’ve never watched Pokemon before, but I now want to because of Issues’ beautiful set:

P1030355

Like, SERIOUSLY? This is the best. Screamer Michael Bohn expressed his love for sweet tea (“Everybody say, ‘HELL YEAH’ for SWEET TEA!”). Tyler Carter prayed after they started their set with technical difficulties (“Thank you, Jesus, for this day…”). They played all the songs I love (except for “The Langdon House”. I wish they’d played that one!) And TYLER CARTER DID THE NAE NAE DURING ONE OF THE SONGS. I’m sad I can’t remember which one. Maybe it was “Never Lose Your Flames” or “Hooligans”. It was beautiful. They’re all beautiful. I love them all.

Sadly, no one from Issues came out to the merch tables. Maybe they went outside or something, but I wasn’t risking going outside to see them, because the staff from the civic center said they wouldn’t let anyone back in if they left the building. So tragic. One day, I’ll meet them all, hug them all, and finally get a twinsies pic with Skyler Acord (BECAUSE WE HAVE THE SAME HAIR).

And finally, ALL TIME LOW. I will admit, I’m not as big of an All Time Low fan as many people there were, but I know a good set when I see one, and they KILLED IT. The stage was perfect. The songs were amazing. The fact that Alex Gaskarth serenaded us all with “Therapy” and “Missing You” was just wonderful. And yes…they played, “Dear Maria, Count Me In.” It was the last song, actually, and afterwards, confetti rained down on everyone C O N S T A N T L Y until after a short part of “Uptown Funk” played after the show was over.

P1030383

So great. It’s been so surreal today though. I feel like none of that actually happened. I’m suffering from PCD (post-concert depression) for sure! But, I think it was a great break from the crazy week we all had. It’ll only get crazier though, since FINALS START THIS WEEK, AHH!

Okay. I think that’s all for now.

Bria and I were planning on doing album reviews while we were in line yesterday, but there was just too much happening. Plus, I was exhausted, so I took a nap.

Hope y’all have had an awesome weekend with whatever you’ve got going on! I’ve gotta do some major studying cause I’ve got a lot to do this week.

It’s the start of a new week! Let’s get out there and crush it!

LOVE YA!

Mishy ❤

2 thoughts on “The Future Hearts Tour!

Leave a Reply

